March 30th, 2022

To: Members of the Ohio Senate

From: Trish Demeter, Interim President, Ohio Environmental Council Action Fund

Re: Amended House Bill 175

Dear Honorable Senators,

I am writing to inform you that the Ohio Environmental Council (OEC) Action Fund will be scoring HB 175 for the purposes of our Legislative Scorecard for the 134th Ohio General Assembly. We urge a no vote on HB 175.

To the extent that HB 175 passes, the OEC Action Fund will be doing extensive public education on the content and the votes on this legislation due to its negative impact to Ohioans' drinking water and water quality. Specifically, we urge a no vote on HB 175 because:

- The bill purposely ignores the science in favor of an interpretation that benefits those who cause pollution;
- It fails to protect the ecological qualities of the 36,000 or more miles of ephemeral streams in Ohio and fails to protect the drinking water of millions of Ohioans who rely on surface water sources;
- Because of this, the bill will be detrimental to Ohioans' finances. This new pollution in water systems will need to be treated at drinking water treatment facilities, increasing the cost of Ohioans' water bills;
- The bill will directly undercut taxpayer investments via the H2Ohio program by eroding foundational water quality regulations currently preventing pollution across the state; and
- It will trigger several other regulatory changes that will cause industry and regulatory confusion.

Ohio already has an estimated \$30 billion worth of water infrastructure upgrades over the next 20 years. Allowing industries to further pollute our waterways will continue to stress aging infrastructure and put additional drinking water treatment costs on the shoulders of Ohioans, worsening existing environmental inequalities in our state. This legislation is bad for Ohioans and their drinking water.

If you have any questions, please direct them to Pete Bucher at <a href="mailto:pbucher@theoec.org">pbucher@theoec.org</a>.

Sincerely,

Trish Demeter

Interim President OEC Action Fund